PDA

View Full Version : 3 yo behavior issues

nursetomommy
10-19-2011, 11:19 AM
Hi everyone! I am very new to GCM and I am having some trouble with my 3 year old daughter. I think she is having normal 3 year old issues such as hitting, talking back and when asked to do something she will lay on the floor and say no no. (Her behavior makes me think I am not raising her right, why is she so aggressive?)What is the best way to deal with this?

I have been reading Dr. Sears books but it is so difficult to remember all the things to do and not to do. What do you do when your child/ren behave like this.

My example: Every morning she needs her diaper changed (she refuses to potty train) and she screams no and runs away. I pick her up and put her on the changing mat, sometimes I bribe..but she just kicks and kicks the whole time. Then I make her sit in a time out and once she is settled down I ask her if she wants to try again. Most of the time this will work. Am I doing this right?

Thank you!

Barefoot Bookworm
10-19-2011, 11:34 AM
Will she let you change her diaper if she has a little bit of time to get used to the idea? With my 3 year old DS, sometimes he wants his bedtime diaper on a little longer before he switches into underwear. It usually only takes 1-2 minutes before he comes to me saying that he's ready for it to come off after I make the suggestion.

Annesil
10-20-2011, 05:54 PM