PDA

View Full Version : Wash and dry new dipes 5+ times?

mommychem
03-13-2011, 03:42 PM
I've been lurking here the last month and I finally took the plunge into cloth:rockon. I'm so excited but of course as a newbie, I have a few questions. Here we go...

I know clothe diapers need to be washed several times to become absorbent. Does this mean wash 5 times in a row? Or wash then dry, wash then dry...?

Is a prefold a prefold a prefold? I had every intention of ordering from GMD. I've learned so much from the site and still plan to order covers or something just as an expression of my gratitude. However, I was searching craigslist and discovered that a mom opened a cd storefront in December not even 5 minutes from my house. And since I try to support local businesses, especially Christian mamas, I decided to buy from her. She carries bumkins pfs and econobum. I figured since I was just starting my stash, I'd get some of each. Anybody have experience with these? I figure either they'll be good enough that I won't know what I'm missing wrt GMD or LL pfs, or frustrating to the point that they will become backups.

I have two in dipes - 7 week old at 12 lbs, 2 year old at 27 lbs. We've starting potty learning with DD1 so I did not want to get too much for her at one time. Here's the stash:

One econobum starter kit: 12 one size pf made in pakistan, 3 os covers, small wet bag
6 infant bumkins Indian pf
6 premium bumkins pf
1 os fuzzibuns
1 os flip
1 os bg 4.0
50 homemade tshirt and flannel wipes
17 gerber flats (burp clothes but could be dipes in an emergency I suppose)
1 toddler kushies cover
1 infant kushies cover
3 snappis
4 pins
2- 24 qt sterilite brand utility cans With covers and latches