PDA

View Full Version : Wool Diaper Covers?

holmama
03-08-2011, 09:52 PM
So I am researching cloth diapers at the moment, we currently use Pampers and they are ya know, nasty and chemically and not biodegradable (so guilty!), trying to figure out what products to buy. I'd like to just buy one system and go with it, or a combination of similar systems, since we are not made of money.
I really feel a little dorky because my Mom cloth diapered and with 6 younger siblings I have a lot of experience. She used prefolks, the cheap kind found locally, and the little vinyl/plastic/? pants. Also cheap and found locally! My problem is i am over analyzing everything and my brain is numb from reading about different ways to cloth diaper and there are so many brands and what if I don't buy the absolute BEST one????? ack!

One concept I had honestly never heard of are wool covers. Sounds so scratchy and hot and leaky actually. Does anybody here use wool? Does it leak? I like to change as soon as the baby goes, no sitting in messes no matter how small, but still, is wool waterproof? I think the wool covers are so cute but don't want to spend the money if they leak.

arelyn
03-08-2011, 11:40 PM
I have a couple wool covers and they did well when they fit DS (it's been a while). You just have to be careful about which detergent you use...I think. This post is mostly a bump because I know there are people who know more about this than I do. Like I said it's been a while since I had a baby a who fit the wool covers so I could use a reminder myself.

Zipporah
03-09-2011, 04:17 AM
Wool is fabulous (although I would be lying if I didn't tell you that it does require a bit of work). The grade of wool that is used is very high quality-fine and not scratchy at all.
It's cooler than disposables too. We live in a place with a similar climate to S Cal and have looong hot summers. I've only ever had trouble with heat rashes on ds on the odd occasion we've used disposables.