PDA

View Full Version : Cloth Diaper "to do" list for Baby...help please?

Beth1231
02-17-2011, 06:54 AM
My plan is falling into place, but I'm a total CD newbie and I need help with the little stuff that I'm missing on my list.

My plan:

1. Purchase Econobum's starter box (3 covers and 12 prefolds + wet bag)
2. Buy 2 small boxes of newborn sposies and use them as diaper covers with a prefold inside (when they start to stretch, I"ll just use them as regular sposies). Got this awesome idea from another mom.
3. Use my apartment's washer for the covers and prefolds and hang them to dry on my balcony (washer and dryer cost $1 each)
:think
4. When cooler weather comes again, drying them on the balcony isn't going to work anymore.

I need help with....

1. Diaper pail: I can't do wash every single day (I will pre-rinse them) because that will really add up cost wise. It's a 2 BR apartment so there isn't a basement or something the pail can sit in and stink up the room. What is a good, inexensive diaper pail that can sit around with diapers for 5 days (pre-rinsed)?
2. Soap to soak them in? What is it called, how fast do you go through it, how much is it? (I need to know for the overall diaper budget)
3. We use Sa8 which is safe to wash infant clothes in. Is it safe to wash my CDs in?
4. What else?? What else do I need to spend money on in order to make this work as inexpensively as possible? Calliope told me about diaperswappers. Another GCMer sent me 4 small covers :heart

Beth1231
02-17-2011, 01:15 PM
:bump

Aerynne
02-17-2011, 01:30 PM
You're going to need a lot more than 12 prefolds- try 5-6 dozen if you're only washing every five days.

I just use a dry pail. At first you will be able to keep it in the bedroom but after a few months (when baby's pee stinks more) you will need to keep it on a balcony or something. We did that when we lived in apts (not sure if you have a balcony)

Most any laundry detergent should be fine- just don't use fabric softener.