PDA

View Full Version : Dobson

LovinBeingMommy
12-12-2010, 03:12 PM
Can someone give me some basics about Dobson? I've seen several places here that he's not good news... I know my parents read some of his books and listened to his radio show (I heard it, too, but don't remember much). I have a feeling they'll be pushing me to read Bringing Up Boys any time now. I'd just kinda like a heads-up and maybe some educated arguments against it.
(My parents would bring him up when they didn't wanna do something. "Dobson says kids shouldn't have a tv in their rooms" when my brother wanted one. Stuff like that. I always enjoyed "yeah, but" when he did that. "Why can't we have a tv if I have a laptop with a DVD drive? Not like we get channels on a tv, anyway, so it's the same!" Maybe I was an evil child/teenager...:shrug3)

I'm still new at parenting in general (and doing it earlier than I'd planned) so I don't really know how I'm planning to handle things and am figuring it out as I go. I really like what I'm reading here and on similar sites and want to learn more. Since I'm living with my parents, I have to be as educated as possible when rejecting old ideas/trying new ones.

happyhousewife
12-12-2010, 03:14 PM
My aunt gave me Bringing up Boys a few years ago. I never read it. He has some weird ideas about homosexuality. iirc?

Peridot
12-12-2010, 03:27 PM
dobson assumes every child is out to overcome his parent. :sigh

In other words, he assumes that the 'sin nature' the Bible talks about is a present and active evil- out to get the better of every mom and Dad at all costs. He has a lot of 50's and 60's child psychology to 'back up' what he says. A lot of it is classic, 'kid's gotta learn who's boss, best to make a painful impression so he won't forget'. :(

My parents used his books too. I've read (some of) them and I have them for reference, if you want to ask any particular questions.