PDA

View Full Version : Why is ECing so hard so us??

MaySunflowers
07-16-2009, 02:19 AM
I have been trying to EC my son since he was about 8 1/2 months old. STILL we are only managing to get 1 pee in the potty per day 9/10 of the time (first pee of the day), and pretty much miss everything else. He is a secret pooper and has soooo much control in that area. He's pooped in the potty 3 times ever. I think he must have good bladder control too as I just can't figure out why we are not getting more in the potty at this point.

Does anyone else have a baby that is this hard to EC? I ECed my daughter and was hugely successful, by this age she was having very few accidents. I just can't figure out why I can't get the same results with my son other than he must be just holding it in on purpose!

canadiyank
07-18-2009, 01:53 AM
How old was your dd when you started? I have little experience with ecing (I experimented with it with dd2) but I have several friends who've done it. I think I remember reading somewhere that beginning after 6 mos. it can be more difficult?

MaySunflowers
07-18-2009, 04:33 AM
I started at 8 1/2 months with him. (With my daughter we started at 10 months and it went great). My son just makes no sense to me! LOL

Sihaya48
07-18-2009, 06:04 AM
:hug My son has been very difficult to ec and we started at 8 days! He's a year and a half now and I've accepted that it's probably going to look more like mainstream potty training at this point. We've only ever had a handful of catches over the past 18 months and I think it's some kind of conflict between our personalities. No advice for you besides to keep at it and possibly read the book "Diaper Free Before Three" which I thought was a good compromise between ecing and waiting for readiness signs. Just wanted you to know you aren't alone :)

MaySunflowers
07-18-2009, 06:53 AM