PDA

View Full Version : Writing ideas for 2nd grader needed

kiloyd
04-13-2009, 05:06 AM
DS hates writing. We are using Heart of Dakota so we do copy work some days and some days he writes a letter to a friend. A couple times I had him write about a topic, like alligators. We went through a book about alligators and picked out key words, then the next day he wrote sentences using those words and then the next day we typed it.

I've tried having him just write a story but he does not like that. Last week I just had him tell me a story and I wrote it down. I'm having him copy it over a few days.

I need some creative ideas for him. Should I also do more dictation? That way he at least gets the sotry telling part and gets to see his story written even though I wrote it?

doubleblessings
04-13-2009, 06:53 AM
FTR I have no BTDT experience...

Last summer at a homeschool conference I listened to Susan Wise Bauer do a talk about writing that I found very interesting. I can't find my notes, so this will be disjointed :O I do have a CD of the session, so I can try to listen again and give more info if desired.

She has a book about this Writing With Ease (http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Writer-Writing-Strong-Fundamentals/dp/193333925X})

First thing that I remember jumping out at me is that she does not push creative writing. If a child enjoys it, she doesn't discourage it, but it is not part of her curriculum. Her reason being that it is not a required skill in life and for children who do not have that gift it can turn them against writing. She instead focuses on expository writing, which is required of most later in life.

Second, that she breaks down the parts of writing so that they are not trying to do them simultaneously. I will try to explain that...