PDA

View Full Version : microfiber inserts

illinoismommy
08-08-2007, 06:39 AM
how long do microfiber inserts work before breaking down?

2sunshines
08-08-2007, 09:34 AM
I've heard a year.

But I have no experience. All of my microfiber inserts looks as good as new, though I don't have any that are too old.

illinoismommy
08-08-2007, 10:40 AM
only one year? :jawdrop

how would you know they aren't good any more?

how long do hemp inserts last? or other types of inserts for pocket diapers?

2sunshines
08-08-2007, 11:00 AM
I'm not sure. Someone told me that... I thought the same thing, but then again, I've never actually had mine go bad, so I have no clue. :shrug

Maybe someone who has had microfiber for longer can shed some light on this. Though I wonder how long microfiber inserts have been out. :think I don't remember hearing about them back when I cd'd my first, though I very well might have missed it...

AFAK, other inserts essentially last forever (or at least as long as they stay in one piece). I have some hemp inserts that I bought 6 years ago that are still in excellent shape.

RosalieMarie
08-08-2007, 05:06 PM
I don't think you can really judge by how long you have them. :shrug Some people's might last 1 year, some 5 years. I think it depends more on how often they are washed. Some wash every day, some every 3 or 4. The more often you wash, the quicker they'll break down.

illinoismommy
08-08-2007, 06:13 PM
So how can I tell if they've broken down? :think

Mother of Sons
08-08-2007, 06:21 PM
I think they are just like any other fabric. I can't imagine that they would be worthless after a year any more than a prefold would.

Grover
08-14-2007, 07:03 AM