PDA

View Full Version : Classical Education Questions

MamaKanga
04-01-2007, 10:18 AM
Hey girls, My DS will be 5 this summer, and I've decided to HS for Kindergarten. After that he will attend a Classical Christian School. In considering various methods for HS next year, I am contemplating the classical approach and starting to investigate it more. Questions--

1. Is anyone here using classical methods to educate their child? If so, what are your reasons? What are the advantages & disadvantages? Do you make any modifications? Any advice or tips for me?

2. If you feel strongly that a classical approach is NOT ideal for kindergarten, why? Part of me thinks it's "too much" for such a young child. But then I do understand that at this age they are sponges, and I want ds to soak up all he can...

3. Any books that you would recommend I read? Someone recommended "The Well-Trained Mind" but I haven't ordered it yet.

Any other thoughts or ideas, please feel free to share. I am very new to this world of HS and want to learn all I can. Thanks! :heart

Mommyo6
04-10-2007, 08:43 AM
Well I see noone answered you so I thought I 'd try! We do a modifed classical "at times"... how is that for confusing! :scratch And I have read lots of books on it! I much prefer the Bluedorns approach than the Bauers, (Well Trained Mind) it is much more laidback. Try reading thru their web site and see waht you think. I think the WTM is too much adn would drive me crazy and be way too intensive with more than one child. The Bluedorns allow for more age integrated stuff. read thier 10 things to do with a child before age 10.

www.triviumpursuit.com/index.php

If you are really going to put him in a school later you will want to find out what he will need to know to slide into that school successfully without being lost.