PDA

View Full Version : Guess what I'm learning in my child development classes...(long and kinda venty)

gentlemommy
11-14-2006, 03:30 AM

ozmummy
11-14-2006, 03:47 AM
Wow!!

That's pretty full on.... :(

:hugheart

I can't believe that they're teaching this in child development. :jawdrop

I did a degree in Early Childhood Education, and it has been a *great* foundation for gbd. All about responding to infant's and children's needs, guiding children in the right behaviour by helping them do it, acknowledging feelings - even in babies. Very negative wrt time-outs/spanking etc. Sadly, it was the *christian* stuff I read that got me scared and set me in a punitive mindset, mostly Dobson.

That's awful that you heard so much yucky stuff in such a short time.

arwen_tiw
11-14-2006, 05:08 AM
:hugheart

Titus2Momof4
11-14-2006, 06:18 AM
I agree that there is something kind of ironic about this :scratch Teaching how parental behavior can negatively effect children and cause these disorders, then suggesting not just "spanking", but putting babies in time-out, engaging in a power struggle to keep them there if they won't stay, etc. Odd.

On the discussion board thing... the fact that most of them said nothing is wrong w/it, they were spanked and they are fine, etc.- do any of them even HAVE kids? Sometimes it helps (you) to consider the source, too. Now, I had always said that I *wasn't* going to spank, before I ever had kids, but I know of many people (APers) who had said that they *would* definitely spank, nothing wrong w/spanking, etc, until they laid eyes on their *own* precious baby ;) So, consider that they may not have kids, this may not even be something they think about on a daily basis like you do b/c you are a mom, you hang out here, etc.

DogwoodMama
11-14-2006, 06:24 AM