PDA

View Full Version : new to unschooling...help

mamamachanteuse
10-04-2006, 07:11 PM
Hi guys, I've been homeschooling my dd 6 yo since last year. We started with FIAR but only did the first volume because it was a struggle to get her to sit down and do it. This year we started with a very eclectic curriculum and abandoned it after oh... about 3 weeks. She just doesn't want to have to sit and DO School for 4 hours per day! I had been looking at unschooling last year and came to a decision to try it after our misstart this year. I've joined a local unschooling group which is helping answer my questions but I'm a little dissapointed because it seems that there aren't any other Christians involved and they are all talking about what sounds like non-coersive parenting.
How do you, Christian unschoolers here, deal with that? And where does unschooling and life meet?
Thanks,
Temple

KitKat
10-04-2006, 07:39 PM
I am not technically an unschooler. We do use a structured curriculum, but we are very lenient in our use of it. So from my perspective...

When do unschooling and life meet?

Well, unschooling is life...

I know, not much help, but here how about this...

Instead of sitting down with a curriculum, you turn life into a curriculum. Instead of teaching counting, by dry repetition, have your child count out cups to put into the dishwasher. Instead of teaching abc's with having them write on paper, have them use sidewalk chalk and copy what you write. Instead of teaching phonics by sitting down have them grab items at the store that start with the letter of the day.

Then of course, set your home up for learning. Rather than having TV on in their rooms, have manipulatives, or educational games. etc.