PDA

View Full Version : To what extent do you plan your year?

WildOlive
08-01-2006, 11:33 AM
Do you have a loose mental checklist of things you want to cover in a year? In a month? Do you schedule and plan things out down to each hour in the day? Somewhere in between? I'm curious after seeing a thread on another HS board in which many people said the one thing they couldn't live without in their HS was their planner. We will only just be starting K this fall, and don't even have to report until she is 6, so I am considering this year a practice run. ;) We are in NY, so we will have to keep tabs on things covered when we start reporting.

Mama Calidad
08-01-2006, 12:20 PM
I make a rough plan for the next week sometime the week before. :shifty

RubySlippers
08-01-2006, 12:52 PM
I use pre-planned curriculums that are exactly what I would write...for the most part...if I weren't lazy. :shifty

4LovesMom
08-01-2006, 12:55 PM
In my case, I'm new to homeschooling and I'm a planner personality-wise. Considering both of those things, I have a planner and I'm writing down what we'll do each day. I need some preparation ahead of time going into this or I'll be stressed, but I'm also flexible enough that we can vary from the plan if necessary. :)

SueQ
08-01-2006, 01:21 PM
I tried writing everything out but it bugged me because I am so laid back that we never stuck to what I wrote down. :lol So now I do plan for the year what books I'll be using and aprox when I'll be using them during the year but then I do a rough plan for the week.

For FIAR I put books on hold several weeks in advance and would row them as they came in. I may not be able to be quite that flexible this year because I am using FIAR and History together so I am trying to row books that would go along with my History.

Here is a site that you can print off planners from if you are into using planners:
http://forms.donnayoung.org/planners/

Mama Calidad
08-01-2006, 01:25 PM