PDA

View Full Version : Unschooling or Homeschooling?

illinoismommy
02-02-2006, 03:35 PM
Hello, I am just beginning my journey here since all I have is one 18 month old. But I am starting to read and decide what kind of education we want to do and what would fit our "style" as a family..... and I am interested in understanding more about the difference between unschooling and homeschooling? Does anyone do anything near the middle?

Piper2
02-02-2006, 04:07 PM
I consider "eclectic homeschooling" as somewhere in the middle. That's where you might use some set curriculum, some unit studies, some self-led learning.

I think of strict "school-at-home" (where they use a boxed curriculum -- all subjects from the same publisher -- sit at a desk, stick to a schedule) and complete unschooling (no intervention by the parent at all) as the 2 extremes of the homeschooling spectrum. I think most homeschoolers fall somewhere in the middle. :)

slingmamaof4
02-02-2006, 05:48 PM
Well, according to that definition of eclectic hs'ing that is what category I would fall into. Desk? Hehe...my dd sits on the floor, couch, at the table. Yk, I bet my dd would actually like having a desk though. But I don't plan on getting her one...but if she really wants one at some point I would consider it. We do a lot of self-led learning, but I alway do encourage her to broaden her horizons. If she doesn't want to do something we don't do it right then. I, too, think that most hs'ers are somewhere between traditional classical hs'ing and solely unschooling. The middle makes since to me and works for our family!

illinoismommy
02-02-2006, 06:43 PM
Oh.... I've never heard of eclectic.... I guess I should start reading :blush

slingmamaof4
02-02-2006, 09:09 PM
Oh.... I've never heard of eclectic.... I guess I should start reading :blush

I never heard of it either until this post. But it sure does sound like me. So don't :blush.

fourbygrace
02-03-2006, 11:14 PM