PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice and opinions.....spanking, etc.

NPMommy
10-28-2005, 09:28 PM
Hi, everyone! I am new to this website so I'll introduce myself before I ask my question. My name is Leanna...my username is NP mommy b/c I am a nurse practitioner (specializing in Women's Health). I have a sweet, beautiful little girl who just turned one...I would put our picture in, but I don't know how :( Anyway, I am pro-natural childbirth, pro-nursing (VERY), cloth diaper (Fuzzi Bunzs are AWESOME), love my baby sling,VERY anti-CIO, pro-co-sleeping (crib first half of the night, our bed the rest--but, just started really letting her stay in the crib), so I seem to fit in pretty well with a lot of the ideas/philosophies here on this website plus, of course, I am a born-again, Bible-believeing(sp?) evangelical christian...BUT, the one area I am VERY fuzzy on is spanking! I don't know ANYONE at all who doesn't spank their children. In fact, my pastor just did a parenting study which I thought was very good and he included a section on discipline and encouraged appropriate spanking as part of loving discipline of your children. I love and respect my pastor a lot and, also, my husband who I believe to be a very well-educated and godly man thinks spanking is appropriate for children. SO....all of that to say, I'm really confused about spanking/not spanking...discipline in general. I mean I know that children have to have some form of discipline (DUH!), but does spanking need to be a part of that? I have read the views posted here, but still am confused...I would love some advice...thoughts...etc.....Also....do you guys believe that children are born with a sin nature? I mean I definately think they are, but I don't think that spanking "removes" the sin nature or anything like that......and what is the explaination non-spankers give for these verses....