PDA

View Full Version : help with sling..

momjis22
05-01-2005, 12:40 PM
i have never used a baby sling before. infact i was thinking that a sling and a baby carrier is all the same!!! :O...well i am 5"2' in height and my baby weights about 14lbs..so if anyone can give me some suggestions for a sling..i'd be happy to try it..
thanks

DogwoodMama
05-01-2005, 12:59 PM
I think just a basic "ring sling" would be great for you... there are a couple of options for you to consider...

-Padded vs. unpadded...
A padded ring sling would be like a NoJo or OTSHB, and it would have padding on the shoulder and along the rail...
An unpadded sling would function the same of course, but doesn't have padding so it's important to make sure you keep the fabric spread out for comfort. The unpadded is more easily adjustable, but I think padded slings are easier to "learn" and are good for babies who like to be more "upright" b/c it cushions their legs a bit.

Another option is "ring sling" vs. "pouch"... a pouch is usually not adjustable at all (though Kangaroo Korner makes adjustable ones!) and it is basically like a big loop of fabric, and you would buy it to fit you. It can also be good for first-timers because you don't have to adjust, just put it on and plop the baby in.

Both can be used in a variety of positions- if you baby isn't used to being in a sling my guess is that your baby would like either "tummy to tummy" where the baby sits in the sling facing you or the "kangaroo hold" where the baby sort of sits cross-legged in the sling facing out... later you can transition to the hip carry or even use it for a back carry!