PDA

View Full Version : Charlotte Mason book suggestions

Mamaka
04-20-2005, 09:23 AM
We've pretty much decided to follow a CM philosophy for homeschooing (though we're still probably a year or more away from seriously starting). I've been slowing working my way through the Ambleside website and been picking up a book here and there from the library about CM (so far liked the CM Companion the best). Those of you experienced with CM, what would your "must read" books be?

erinee
04-20-2005, 12:25 PM
Im not experienced yet, but I'm using this method after this school year ends. "A Pocketful of Pine Cones" will give you a good idea of what nature studies look like. "For the Children's Sake" is another CM must-read. I definitely want to read "Educating the Whole-Hearted Child," by the Clarksons. You can also read CM's original series from the ambleside website. I printed volume I out and am reading it now.

Leslie
04-20-2005, 03:10 PM
You can't do any better than reading Charlotte Mason's books in her own words. At least looking at the summaries will give an idea what's in them. You can see those here: http://www.amblesideonline.org/CM/CMSummaries.html

Besides those, my favorite CM books are The Charlotte Mason Study Guide by Penny Gardner (she uses quotes from CM's books to explain the method) and A Charlotte Mason Education by Catherine Levison. I assume her second book (More Charlotte Mason Education) is just as good, but I haven't read it yet. I also liked For the Childrens Sake.

ChristineG
04-20-2005, 05:45 PM