Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Random Quotes from Wise Mamas

~* Please help keep GCM free by using our
Amazon.com affiliate link. Thank you! *~

Go Back   Gentle Christian Mothers Community > Blessing our Family > The Cookbook (Recipes, Cooking, & Food Prep) *Public* > Dessert *Public*
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Old 12-05-2009, 12:24 PM   #1
mykidsmom

Default Calling all FUDGE experts...

I'm trying my hand at fudge today. It's my very first time and after reading the directions I have to say I truly appreciate fudge more than I ever have before. It looks complicated. I'm not a candy maker... I don't even own a candy thermometer so I have to go buy one...

So, anyone have any fudge makings tips? How do I keep it from being grainy? I've had the best, super smooth fudge and some of the worst grainy, chalk-like fudge.

Thanks in advance!
Old 12-05-2009, 06:35 PM   #2
MudPies
I support GCM!

My kiddos

MudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond reputeMudPies has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Calling all FUDGE experts...

i have an easy, delicious fudge recipie. let me get it. no thermometer needed.

in a large pan ( i use like a 6 quart- or what I do for a big pot of spaghetti) dump in 4c sugar, 13 oz can of evaporated milk, and 1/4 pound of butter. Bring to a boil and boil for 4 min while stirring. Yes it will smell funny.

turn off burner- but leave pan on the heat. fold in 7oz of marshmallow fluff (1 jar), 1 pound milk chocolate, 1 oz bitter baking chocolate, 12 oz semi sweet chocolate chips, 2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 cup of nuts (walnuts usually) if desired.