Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Gentle Christian Mothers Community (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/index.php)
-   Homeschooling & Unschooling (Support) *Public* [Open--Join Forum to Post] (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=422)
-   -   Homeschool Graduation (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/showthread.php?t=525139)

charla 04-14-2018 04:30 PM

Homeschool Graduation

Please tell me all you know about homeschool graduation. What did you include in a ceremony? Where did you order supplies? Diploma? Invitations? Things I don't know I need?

heartofjoy 04-14-2018 04:51 PM

Re: Homeschool Graduation

I got a very nice diploma from HSLDA. And I bought a cap and gown online. You can google caps and gowns. I'm not entirely sure one place is better than another. I think I bought from graduation source or economy cap and gown.

We bought invitations online from Simply to Impress. They were a combo announcement/invite. We did them as announcements and then added a little slip of paper with the party details.

We rented a small meeting room at a local center. We decorated with balloons, pictures, table centerpieces, a photo booth wall. We served cake and all my daughters favorite snacks. We had a short ceremony (maybe 30 minutes) and her youth pastor, me, her father, and she spoke. Then we ate and she and her friends moved the chairs out of the way and danced.

This was what she wanted. My son will graduation next year and we'll probably take him to dinner and give him a cash gift instead!

CelticJourney 04-14-2018 07:22 PM

Dd1 attended our accountability group's big graduation and we had a reception the next day.

Dd2 .....well...I took her sister's cap and gown on a hike to a waterfall and when she was on a big rock by the falls, pulled them out and made her put them on and took a picture...that was it....totally not a 'ceremony' person :)

tempus vernum 04-14-2018 07:35 PM