Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Gentle Christian Mothers Community (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/index.php)
-   Joyous Homekeeping *Public* (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=429)
-   -   Any tips on wallpaper removal? (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/showthread.php?t=514942)

gerberadaisy 07-28-2015 07:21 PM

Any tips on wallpaper removal?

Our new house has some wall paper borders that will need to come down. I know there are products to do it & I know that fabric softner & water sprayed on it is also supposed to work. Any other suggestions? Any professional wallpaper removers out there?

Just thinking about these small borders make me shiver to think that we looked at a house that was about 75% wallpaper vs. paint. *shudder*.

charla 07-28-2015 08:59 PM

Re: Any tips on wallpaper removal?

I'm not a professional by any stretch of the imagination because I only have very limited experience but we used a scraper to scrape paper off by first using a sponge to soak the wallpaper with warm water and then tons of elbow grease, patience and perseverance.

Our house has many rooms with wallpaper so I'm hoping someone with much more experience will come along and let us know an easier way. I'd love to remove a bunch more wallpaper but I don't have it in me to do it the painstaking way I mentioned above. :snooty

gerberadaisy 07-28-2015 09:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by charla (Post 5935400)
I'm not a professional by any stretch of the imagination because I only have very limited experience but we used a scraper to scrape paper off by first using a sponge to soak the wallpaper with warm water and then tons of elbow grease, patience and perseverance.