Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Gentle Christian Mothers Community (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/index.php)
-   Homeschooling & Unschooling (Support) *Public* [Open--Join Forum to Post] (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=422)
-   -   Anyone use CORE KNOWLEDGE for HS? Pros/Cons? (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/showthread.php?t=243702)

StumblinMama 03-03-2008 01:41 PM

Anyone use CORE KNOWLEDGE for HS? Pros/Cons?

I'll preface by saying that I was an elementary teacher for a few years b/f becoming a SAHM. I used Core Knowledge a little bit while I was teaching, and I'm interested in using it with my dd who will start K in the fall. (That's assuming her dad agrees to HS vs. sending her to our local Charter School). Anyway, do any of you gals use Core Knowledge? If so, what do you see as the pros/cons? Also, which of their materials did you purchase? I plan on using a theme based approach as the basis of our HS. TIA!!

CelticJourney 03-05-2008 09:54 PM

Re: Anyone use CORE KNOWLEDGE for HS? Pros/Cons?

I used is some for early elementry. I used the science, art/music and geography sections. Early on I used the history, but I found I prefered a more focused history as they got older and it was hard to rework their spiral.

I liked that it was written for the child's level. I liked that I had a good resource for the basics for math and science. I don't care for their approach to history.

teamommy 03-06-2008 09:18 AM

I was hoping you would get more responses. :) I really like what I have seen of Core Knowledge. If there were a homeschool curriculum that implemented Core Knowledge, I would consider using it. Maybe someone needs to write one? :giggle