PDA

View Full Version : Advice on 1st steps to Natural Health

sunflowermom
04-04-2014, 12:56 PM
Hi ladies!

I'm interested in taking steps towards natural health. Through several different avenues of my life (friends, family, GCM) I'm thinking I would like to try things like essential oils, making my own laundry soap, etc.

I can't spend a whole lot at once, so I'm thinking I'd like to start in baby steps. I'm wondering what your recommendations are on where to start? I'm totally new to this world as I've mostly only been exposed to "mainstream" cleaning and health until recently.

Thanks in advance! :heart

HomeWithMyBabies
04-04-2014, 01:15 PM
Vinegar is a good cleaner, paired with baking soda it's an easy and inexpensive place to start.

Virginia
04-04-2014, 02:28 PM
I'm kind of right there with you!
My New Year's Resolution was to use only natural cleaning supplies. On Dec. 31, I got rid of all our Clorox wipes and bleach and so forth and have been using homemade cleaners (vinegar, lemon juice, and water is a good one). I found a ton of great recipes on Pinterest and have just been playing around.

I haven't done laundry soap yet, but it's on my list.

Essential oils: start small and with just a couple. Again, I've found a ton of great info on Pinterest (and here, of course). I only own three EOs right now and used them to make a cleaner and a "poo pourri" spray for going number two ;) However, I plan to use the peppermint oil to easy headaches!

:cup for more ideas.

HomeyT
04-04-2014, 02:34 PM
Peppermint lavender and lemon are great oils to start with.
I ditto the vinegar and baking soda....I clean the whole bathroom with these. As well as many other messes!

L-Boogie
04-05-2014, 07:18 PM
Vinegar and newspaper for cleaning windows
Baking soda mixed with a little water for cleaning sinks and tubs
I use a wet washcloth on my bathroom mirror and it looks just fine :)