PDA

View Full Version : Help please! Cooking disasters due to new stovetop...

mamaeffie
06-29-2013, 07:00 AM
So, we just moved into a pretty and perfect new house, yay!!!

But it has an electric stove top :sigh I've only ever cooked with a gas stove, so this is totally new and weird and I'm burning things. I'm a good cook, darn it! This isn't fun :lol

Help a sister out with some tips or advice or gentle hugs?

illinoismommy
06-29-2013, 07:13 AM
I am living with my first electric too and its super annoying.

When you turn it down, move the pan to an empty burner for a minute while it cools since it cools down soooo much slower...

Proverbs31
06-29-2013, 07:16 AM
I almost never use high, except for bringing water to a boil. (on my stove, 8 is the highest setting except for "high".)

If a recipe says to sautee on high, 4 (i.e., slightly less than half of the burner's max heat setting) is about the highest that actually works for me without being too hot.

Frying eggs works best around 1.5. Pancakes I might crank it up to a 2, but usually have to turn it down to 1.5 partway through or they start to scorch. Sauteeing veggies is usually around 2-3. Cooking meat is usually 2-4.

I've cooked for years, on both gas and electric (actually prefer electric for safety reasons). So I don't *think* I'm an incompetent cook. :giggle I'm still very puzzled as to why the burner's heat range is labeled in such a way that all my cooking is done somewhere between low-barely medium. :shrug3

The Tickle Momster
06-29-2013, 07:16 AM
Get a gas stove? :shifty :duck

:hug Seriously though, turn the heat off a few minutes before your food is done cooking. The burners stay hot longer. Get the little metal rings to put between the pan and the burner, so your pan is not directly on it. Stir more.

I get it. I grew up with gas. Moved out and had electric. Hated it. Bought a gas stove after a few years.

Sparrow
06-29-2013, 07:35 AM