PDA

View Full Version : Compost pile?

Autumn
11-03-2012, 11:58 AM
I'd like to start one but I'm totally new to it - could I ask some questions about your setups?

How did you start it?
Is it just a pile or do you have a container? Which one?
What all do you put in it?
Did you buy worms for it or just have food, etc in it?
Do you have trouble with dogs/other animals getting into it?
Anything you wish you knew when you started or wish you'd done differently?
Any pictures?

:cup

Sundance
11-03-2012, 12:17 PM

I don't have pics right now, but I might take some later for you.

If you want a hot pile, you will want some type of container to contain it. If you just want a slow/cold heap, you can just make a pile.

A cold pile might stink, though, depending on what you compost.

Right now, we have a cement crock from a well with a small pile in it, but we have a manure pile that composts pretty well for us (but I know that's not what most people will have!).

swimming with sharks
11-03-2012, 12:31 PM
How did you start it? We got a big plastic ball one that you can *Roll* around to mix it.
Is it just a pile or do you have a container? Which one? looks vaguely like this one (http://www.amazon.com/STC-33371-CompoSpin-Composter-Rolling/dp/B003LL5AKA/ref=sr_1_1?s=lawn-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1351970786&sr=1-1&keywords=compost+ball)except it doesn't have a 'base' :shrug3
What all do you put in it? everything but meat scraps and even those sometimes (mostly when I'm too lazy to separate them. :bag
Did you buy worms for it or just have food, etc in it? It has holes around it and the worms have climbed in and live in it. :giggle