PDA

View Full Version : Help with Crochet Scarf Pattern

chigasaki
09-23-2012, 06:23 PM
Hey y'all, I need some help. I am a beginner at crochet, and I want to make this scarf (registration req'd): http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/L0721.html?noImages=

Here's the pattern:
SCARF
Chain 132.
Row 1: Double crochet in 4th chain from hook, *double crochet in next chain, 2 double crochet in next chain; repeat from * across.
Row 2: Chain 3, turn, double crochet in same space, *double crochet in next 2 double crochet, 2 double crochet in next double crochet; repeat from * across.
Row 3: Chain 3, turn, double crochet in same space, *double crochet in next 3 double crochet, 2 double crochet in next double crochet; repeat from * across.
Row 4: Chain 3, turn, double crochet in same space, *double crochet in next 4 double crochet, 2 double crochet in next double crochet; repeat from * across Fasten off.

I understand what everything means, except for "double crochet in same space." To what is the "same space" referring?

Does that just mean to double crochet where the first double crochet of the last row is (i.e. skip the 3 chains I just made, and double crochet in the next space)?

Or does that mean to double crochet in one of the chains I just made? :scratch

Any help would be appreciated. :heart

SilverMoon
09-23-2012, 06:31 PM
The 3 chain at the beginning is considered to be the first stitch, a dc. You would put another dc in the bottom of that stitch, the last dc in the row below. That would be 2 dc in one stitch.

(pretending the V is two dc, and the T is the dc below, this is what the first 2 stitches of the new row would look like.
V
T