PDA

View Full Version : crochet patterns are a different language!

HomeWithMyBabies
08-02-2012, 08:28 PM
I've been crocheting for probably twenty five years now. My gramma showed me how to do it when I was a kid but I've only even known the basic stitch. :giggle. So I've made a lot of single crochet scarves and blankets but now I'm trying to branch out. I can do the stitches but I can't follow the patterns.

For example I have a hat pattern that is "easy" and I'm lost at the first line. It says Ch 2. I know what ch means thanks to my new book here, but the book isn't telling me what the instructions are saying. Am I making two chains? Then I'm supposed to RND 1: 7 sc in 2nd ch from hk, do not join-7 sc. I can finally understand what the abreviations stand for but what on earth does that mean? I feel really dense.

Kiara.I
08-02-2012, 09:26 PM
Well, I'll try to explain it in English. :giggle

Chain 2. So you make a chain that is two spaces long, right? Now you're making something round. So the *first* space (chain) that you made is now officially the centre of the round thing. The *second* chain is now the bit that gets you "out" to the level of the next round--it's like an elevator.

So now you do 7 single crochet stitches through the middle of that first "chain" you made (which is the 2nd away from the hook, as opposed to the one closest to the hook, which is your "elevator" to the next level. Sometimes if your next stitches are going to be longer, like triple crochets or something, your "elevator" would need to be taller, so it might be "fourth away from the hook" or something.)

So you do your 7 single crochets through that space, but then you don't join them into a complete circle (which you normally would for making round things, by doing a slip stitch through that initial "elevator" chain.)

HomeWithMyBabies
08-03-2012, 04:59 AM
I'm gonna have some coffee, and come back to that. :giggle Thank you!

TestifyToLove
08-03-2012, 07:01 AM