PDA

View Full Version : Where can I learn to read crochet patterns *Pic post 8, how am I doing"*

3boysforme
07-30-2012, 11:37 AM
I am looking into learning how to crochet. I have to basic steps down, like I can make a chain and a stitch ( I cannot, however, keep my rows even :doh). So where can I go to learn some more, but that has it broken down for a very beginner?

Earthmummy07
07-30-2012, 12:18 PM
I use youtube tutorials. Not much you can't find on there :yes

NovelMama
07-30-2012, 02:10 PM
I really like this book (http://www.amazon.com/The-Crochet-Answer-Book-ebook/dp/B004A7YIMA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1343682550&sr=8-1&keywords=crochet+answers). And I use YouTube tutorials when I really can't figure out the stitch just from reading about it. Yarn company websites often have free beginner lessons online, too. And The Happy Hooker (by the woman that wrote Stitch and B*tch) is pretty good, too, although she leaves out some important stuff for absolute beginners, but you're past that stage now so you'd be fine.

3boysforme
07-30-2012, 02:29 PM
And The Happy Hooker (by the woman that wrote Stitch and B*tch) is pretty good, too, although she leaves out some important stuff for absolute beginners, but you're past that stage now so you'd be fine.

:giggle. I literally picked up the yarn and hook for the very first time ever yesterday. I think I am still an absolute beginner. :shifty

DragonfliiMama
07-30-2012, 02:52 PM
Do you want to read written patterns or charted patterns? For charted patterns, there's a really good series in the This Week in Ravelry archives. For written patterns, honestly, I'd pick a (professionally written) pattern that you like that's marked for a beginner. It should have a key at the top for what each abbreviation means, and they are pretty standard. If it's in a book or magazine, the key as well as step by step instructions for each stitch should be either at the very front or the very back.

3boysforme
07-31-2012, 07:07 PM