PDA

View Full Version : Homemade Menstruation Pads?

JenniferJuniper
05-23-2012, 07:41 PM
So I've been looking at mamacloth and the like, and I just can't afford 30$ for 3 pads. :hunh

Does anyone have a good pattern or tips as to how to make your own menstruation pads?
I'm actually pretty new to the whole idea of using re-usable pads, as I tend to be more of a tampon girl, but I'm so turned off by the chemicals and flushing them, that I'm looking into alternatives. :)

Peace,
-Jenny

mamamonkey
05-24-2012, 05:19 AM
Giving you a :bump

I know there are mamas on here who make mama pads. Hopefully one of them will see this!

crunchymum
05-24-2012, 06:00 AM
When I made mine, I just made a pattern from the 1 cloth pad I had. I used flannel (that I got super cheap at Joann's) and some PUL to help them not leak. They weren't perfect, but they worked. ;) if I was using them for anything besides immediately post partum, I would have look into putting snaps or Velcro on them. I think you can find pretty good tutorials out there. :yes

Kazimiera
05-24-2012, 06:05 AM
I don't make my own but I buy mine on etsy and they are 8 for $32.00. I really like them. Also if you are a "tampon girl" you might want to look into a mooncup. I have never used one but the gals who do swear by them.

Pearl In Oyster
05-24-2012, 06:09 AM
Our own MamaGoose has a tutorial on how to make them on her blog:

http://lavenderdaydream.blogspot.com/2011/08/cloth-mama-pad-sewing-tutorial.html

HuggaBuggaMommy
05-24-2012, 06:14 AM
I just traced a disposable pad with wings, used flannel with a fleece backing (I don't like PUL), and got a cheap snap setter that works fine, as long as you don't pull too hard.

I also have Diva Cup, which I love. I only use the cloth pads as back-up now to the Diva, and then a cloth panty liner daily.

JenLovie
05-24-2012, 06:35 AM