PDA

View Full Version : Please give a newbie advice - UPDATE p6

FlyingBlueKiwi
01-15-2012, 11:04 PM
I'm trying to get a plot in a community garden for this coming year. I won't know until late February if I've got it, but have been offered space in a friend's yard if not.

Please tell me exactly what a total beginner might need to know (I was not raised around gardening)...from what type of tools, to seeds, to care, etc.

Some info:
-we live in a condo that has heavy shade from trees on it's window side...our patio and windows get almost no direct sunlight, so starting things in containers may be tough (dh has tried to get some things to grow, with no success)
-the garden space in the community garden is an organic space, about 200 sq. feet (which seems like a lot to me).
-we are interested in planting a few flowers, but mainly things we can eat.
-a big purpose of this is to involve DS (age 7) in the process. We HS, so can garden during the day.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!

Macky
01-16-2012, 10:26 PM
You're asking a HUGE question there. That's like asking, "I'm new to parenting. Please tell me everything I need to know in one thread." ;)

Congrats on getting some garden space! :cheer You're going to have so much fun!

I'll ask a couple of questions first, so that I can simplify my long, overly wordy answers. :)

Is the community garden plot established or is it brand new? Is it in-ground or a raised bed? Are you trying to get started will very little cash or do you have a comfortable amount to work with? Most importantly, what does your family really like to eat? Is there anything you're specifically keen on growing because it's hard to find or expensive to buy where you live?

Seeding, growing and care of plants differs according to the plant, so we have to decide what you want to grow first. :)