PDA

View Full Version : ANXIETY & Refusing to go to school!

fairolivia
12-12-2011, 03:35 AM
My 61/2 is down right refusing to go to school... about once a week. I'm a teacher at his school (different grade) so this poses a big problem for us. The bigger problem is how to help my son with his anxiety, stress and anger.

Sadly, I can think of many possible causes for this :cry :
--He's always been very attached.
-- He's highly sensitive.
--He's an introvert
--He's VERY stubborn
--We moved 3 years ago from the States (with month long stays with grandparents first then to the UK then 2 months later to Europe).
--Last year (when it started getting bad) was very stressful with a constantly changing school schedule & change of schools. He didn't trust (they weren't bad just not sensitive. --I was stressed out & distracted.
--To add to this my Dh & I bicker often; it's our way of dealing with our own stress, anxiety & depression (long story).
--This year he started First grade and then was being bullied by 3rd graders (thankfully that has stopped).

So far my work is very supportive (a benefit to working with other teachers & mothers). I've talked to the school counselor, but she has yet to see him.

We are looking for an English speaking counselor... not easy here. Last night I found the Celebrate Calm program and my friend told me about The Journey program. Both look like what we need! Anyone tried these???

I don't know how to handle this??? In these moments he's so angry, throws fits, hits, yells, calls me names and is SO defiant. He throws his clothes and sometimes locks himself in the bathroom.