PDA

View Full Version : Teaching Textbooks vs Switched on Schoolhouse?

RealLifeMama
11-09-2011, 09:19 PM
I need (OK, want) to get a math curriculum that my DS can use on the computer. He really enjoyed the Time 4 Learning math when we did that for a short time after the baby was born. I know of SOS and Teaching Textbooks. (Any others?)
I looked at each briefly and looked at the sample lessons, but I don't know much beyond that. I found the gorilla in one of them a bit distracting.

I did use the search function, but did not see much of a comparison between the two. Has anyone tried either or both? Which one have you heard better things about? He would be doing the grade 3. I might get one for DD, too, grade 5, as it seems that when I do math with her, she cries every time we do something new.
That makes it a lot of money, so I don't want it to bomb.

(Yes, as a former math teacher, I feel disgraced. :doh)

jandjmommy
11-09-2011, 10:19 PM
Teaching Textbooks is super fun for DS7! We switched from Saxon a few weeks ago and math is now the easiest subject to get him going on.
The concepts are explained very well, IMO. We started on 4 though DS is 2nd because 4 starts with pretty basic topics -- he's about 20 lessons in and it's still basic addition, greater than/less than, etc.

RealLifeMama
11-10-2011, 03:46 PM
:bump

bliss
11-10-2011, 04:36 PM
I was not thrilled with SOS, both the curriculum 'style' and their customer service left me a bit cold.

Iarwain
11-10-2011, 04:41 PM
My dd tried SOS for a while. She sort of enjoyed it but *hated* the math. I hated everything about it from day 1 but then I'm an unschooler who was just going along with it because she wanted to do it...

I haven't compared side by side at similar grade levels nor have I used the computer elements but the Teaching Textbooks books my high schoolers have used have been very user friendly.

allisonintx
11-10-2011, 04:42 PM