PDA

View Full Version : Raised beds on concrete?

Housekat
03-16-2011, 08:46 AM
Hi all! I'm a real beginner when it comes to gardening and have been told that raised beds are the simplest way of growing some veggies. I'm looking at this one here: http://www.greenfingers.com/superstore/product.asp?dept_id=200486&pf_id=LS8809D

At the back of our garden we have a 'platform' where the previous owners had a shed or something, which has a concrete base. It's really not good for anything and I had the idea of putting a couple of raised beds there. The question is, can I put them on a concrete base, seeing that usually I guess earthworms etc would work their way into the raised bed from the ground, and presumably they can't do that with a concrete base?

Thanks in advance for your help! :heart

mystweaver
03-16-2011, 09:08 AM
Container gardening works (even without earthworms), and I'm guessing that a raised bed on concrete would functionally be a large container garden.

I think it would work, but considering my entire garden drowned last year (containers + record rain = dead garden), I should probably just sit and listen. :)

canadiyank
03-16-2011, 09:11 AM
I've seen things in magazines like that - bekah's right, it's basically large container gardening.

Macky
03-16-2011, 09:18 AM