PDA

View Full Version : Oats

Abibigail
03-08-2011, 09:35 AM
Steel cut vs rolled... which is better and why? :)

mathematicalmessymamma
03-08-2011, 01:41 PM
Whole oats are best, then steel cut oats are better than rolled. I'm not sure why but whole oats have a lower glycemic index than rolled - I guess rolling them makes them a simpler to digest carb which can spike blood sugar. As a hypoglycemic/ gestastional-diabetic I can testify to that. As for nutritional value, I would guess there's not much difference. But I'm no expert. :)

Lady Grey
03-08-2011, 01:47 PM
Personally, I cannot stand the texture of steel cut oats. They seem to appeal to a lot of people who cannot stand regular oatmeal, which I really love. :shrug3

believer
03-08-2011, 01:55 PM
Personally, I cannot stand the texture of steel cut oats. They seem to appeal to a lot of people who cannot stand regular oatmeal, which I really love. :shrug3
that may be so. I don't really care for regular oatmeal, but I like steel cut oats better. :shrug3

musicmama
03-08-2011, 02:18 PM
I love regular oats :tu

Mama Calidad
03-08-2011, 02:28 PM

Funny you say that. I can not stand regular oatmeal (except in cookies :shifty), but I really like steel-cut oats. I can not stand the texture of regular oatmeal...or bananas. :no

musicmama
03-08-2011, 02:33 PM
mmmmmmmmmmmbananas
mmmmmmmmmmmmmavocados

Mama Calidad
03-08-2011, 02:34 PM
I'll only agree with the second. Bananas make me gag. :snooty

musicmama
03-08-2011, 02:36 PM
i'll eat your bananas

and your avocados.

Mama Calidad
03-08-2011, 02:39 PM
You come on down. I'll make up a big ol' batch of guacamole. We can share. :yum

....yeah, that warning in my siggy is for reals. :shifty

musicmama
03-08-2011, 02:40 PM
:yum

(glad i could help :lol)

Mama Calidad
03-08-2011, 02:41 PM
(you and MOTG may be enablers. :think)

Can'tTurnLeft
03-08-2011, 02:42 PM