PDA

View Full Version : Exploring GBD with DH

everydaygrace
02-27-2011, 08:00 PM
I'm so thankful. DH and just had a great argument/discussion that ended really well. He basically expressed his concern that i wil bulldoze him when it comes to parenting decisions because I've done all this research and i think I'm an expert, but that neither of us have been a parent before and he wants a say in how we raise our children. I've done all this research on ap stuff and gentle discipline and I Think he wants to make sure that I am doing it prayerfully and with discernment.

And I had a chance to tell him that I really believe that God has led us to this way of doing things for our family through leading ME to it I am so excited about it because I believe it is a way of bringing up our children that is God-honoring and Biblical, and not culturally-based like the alternatives we were raised with.

It was a really good conversation and I think created some common ground. We were both able to address some of our fears about raising kids together and how it would affect our marriage. I told him that the way I see it, as a couple, we have always seen things differently than the majority, both in our society and in the church. So why would our views about parenting be any different? :shrug3 That really resonated with him.

He's not ready to say no spanking, but i think he is really coming along in his understanding that there is a toolbox, it's not just a void. And also, he already knew I didn't believe in spanking, but tonight i told him for the first time that I will not be spanking our children. That it is for him to decide whether he keeps that in his toolbox, but it's not in mine.