PDA

View Full Version : Can you help me?

OneLove
02-02-2011, 09:19 PM
So I am pretty new to the gentle discipline stuff and still learning a lot. I am a part of a meetup group that has discussions and this one came up and I am not coming up with the right way to respond and was hoping for some help. I have written so many different responses out without posting but none of them seem to get my point across clearly and concisely. I don't know these people very well...if at all so I want to be careful how I come across...any input/ideas are appreciated.

So the question was (edited out details): as of right now i've been watching a lot of supernanny and trying to do what i see there. today i was decked in teh head with a toy. and i just dont know how to fix it. any and all advice/stories would be appreciated

She has gotten a lot of pro spanking advice basically like this one: We prefer to avoid corporal punishment, too; however, we have found that it's good for your child to know you will spank if nothing else works. I was a Teacher for seven years, and I see where the no spanking at home has gotten us. When I'd say I'd call their parents, kids didn't even care. They do need something to be a real threat to them.

:( Its so hard to hear...

Can'tTurnLeft
02-02-2011, 09:21 PM
How old was the kid? Advice will vary wildly based on age

OneLove
02-02-2011, 09:23 PM
Oh sorry about that...the kid is 3.5 years old boy.

Can'tTurnLeft
02-02-2011, 09:26 PM
Get down on the child's level and say "we don't throw toys, we play gently. I'm going to put this toy up for a while. Lets find some others to play with"

raining_kisses
02-02-2011, 09:29 PM
One point that always stands out to me about hitting a child as punishment for the child hitting: How does that even make sense? DS was hit by my nephew one time and my brother spanked him and said "we don't hit!!" ugh...you just did!

OneLove
02-02-2011, 09:30 PM