PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone here machine quilt..

Six Little Feet
02-02-2011, 03:44 PM
I need something and the costs I am looking seem step. Anyone????

Barefoot Bookworm
02-02-2011, 04:07 PM
I do but I'm still a newbie at it so I can't promise I know the answer.

expatmom
02-02-2011, 06:52 PM
I do, but only for myself. The time investment required wouldn't make it worth doing it to sell. I know you can take a quilt top to the MCC & they will quilt it for you, but it is costly.

Can'tTurnLeft
02-02-2011, 06:55 PM
I do, but only for myself. The time investment required wouldn't make it worth doing it to sell. I know you can take a quilt top to the MCC & they will quilt it for you, but it is costly.

This. It is pricy because it is time consuming and mind numbingly boring

Six Little Feet
02-02-2011, 09:56 PM

The quilt is made. I just want it sewn together so I can wash it.

Marielle
02-03-2011, 05:24 AM
I think that's what expatmom is referring to. That the quilting portion can be done by a long arm quilter in your area. Or is it that you need the binding sewn on Sheryl?

It's good to shop around for the best price/best quality but remember that it's a creative labor and usually something people pay a pretty penny for to not do themselves. ;) aka: expensive

Six Little Feet
02-03-2011, 08:40 AM
I have the quilt all put together. It is really a glorified rag quilt. One side is minky, the other side is quilters cotton, and there is flannel in the middle. I was using yarn at each intersection and just pulling it through and tying it, but it is hard to push through and taking so long..i just thought it would be nice to get it done faster.

I don't see what would be creative about it-it is just running a machine over a finished quilt. Am I missing something?

I guess i gust have to find a really sharp and strong needle to run the yarn through...any suggestions?

Marielle
02-03-2011, 08:50 AM