PDA

View Full Version : Are strong willed kids really just sensitive

rjy9343
01-18-2011, 10:30 PM
I have a theory that so called strong willed kids are really just sensitive kids. It seems to me that the reason punitive parenting does not really work on them is that they are hurt and confused by their parents' words and actions and are trying to make sense of it. It seems that GD works because they feel that they are valued and have a say in what matters. But most of all they have approval from parents or other authority figures. From what I have seen strong willed kids are really anxious to please, they just don't want to be talked at. I am by no means an expert, and would love to hear from other moms.

graceandmercy
01-18-2011, 10:37 PM
Makes sense to me. My one is super sensitive and I have to be very careful in how I discipline her, and she is more strong willed than her sister. She is my "mama bear" and a leader and very serious and hard working. My other one is not quite so sensitive unless she is hungry or tired, and she's more "happy-go-lucky" and willing to give in and make the peace most of the time (unless she is tired or hungry).

Taedareth
01-18-2011, 11:20 PM
Speaking as a very sensitive and strong-willed child, I think your theory has merit :) My parents used the punitive model on me from the very beginning, so I don't remember ever being "eager to please" although my dad once commented that as a young child I was "very bidable." I just remember at the age of 4ish, being afraid of him because he used the force of his negative emotions and imposing physical presence to threaten/bully me into doing his will. He saw this as simply asserting his fatherly authority :-/