PDA

View Full Version : When should I start? UPDATE - I started, details in p 7!!

Pearl In Oyster
01-04-2011, 05:27 PM
I'm new to gardening, but I really want to have a fruit and vegetable garden this year.

We live on my inlaw's property in Central CA (somewhere between Fresno and Bakersfield ;)) which is 5 acres of sandy soil. There are probably 3 acres that are uncultivated beside the 1 acre with our houses/yards on it and 1 acre with a small grove of walnut trees.

When DH was growing up out here, they did have fruit trees and a vegetable garden, so there is plumbing and faucets every so often on the east side of the property.

(There's also an old chicken shed that is currently full of junk that I'd love to restore to its former glory and populate with chickens!)

I'm thinking of doing square foot gardening in raised beds.

I have zero supplies or seeds, but some access to FILs old equipment.

When should I start preparing? What should my priorities be?

Hermana Linda
01-04-2011, 10:52 PM
Are you getting frosts? :think

You should be working on clearing the land or building the raised beds. Also start a composting pile.

If no frosts, you can start a winter garden of leafy greens, broccoli, things that like cold weather.

Pearl In Oyster
01-04-2011, 11:25 PM
We have had some frosts, and I imagine there may be more. According to the National Climactic Data Center, in my vicinity, there is a 90% chance of 32 degree or lower temps after December 22, 50% chance of below freezing temps after Jan 28, and 10% chance of below freezing temps after March 2.

Hermana Linda
01-04-2011, 11:39 PM