PDA

View Full Version : convenience cooking

DragonfliiMama
10-04-2010, 10:14 AM
Convenience food is a HUGE issue for us, especially me. I'm not good at eating healthy, I don't enjoy cooking, and it all feels like just too much work, so I do an awful lot of fast food and even at home a lot of snacky junk foods, meals from a box, etc. Dh likes to cook, is good at it, and is much better at cooking healthy, but still doesn't have a lot of time to do it by the time he gets home from work. Plus we are meat-eaters living in a vegetarian household, so that makes it all the more tempting to eat out.

I need recipes that are:
quick
easy
inexpensive
healthy
heavy on veggies
filling
preferably NOT heavy on beans as a source of protein (we can use frozen chicken/fish patties, eggs, and meat substitutes)

some of our favorites are -
spaghetti
pizza (usually frozen or take out :bag)
homemade mac n cheese bake (but this is more time intensive)
bean casserole with rice, cheese, cream of celery soup, chow mein noodles
cheese"burger" pie
sloppy joes / bbq roast (but i can't do the roast in the crockpot anymore :doh)

I need variety, that's not even a whole week's worth of meals right there and I'm getting tired of doing the same thing all the time. I also need some ideas for side dishes that aren't all starch to round out the meal.

MarynMunchkins
10-04-2010, 10:23 AM
I like fried rice - and it's easy to make a vegetarian version and then add your meat to it. :)

hey mommy
10-04-2010, 10:37 AM
Subbing.. I would like ideas too.

Macky
10-05-2010, 01:25 AM
I haven' made these in forever (avoiding canned soups), but I remember them being sooo tasty and super easy!

1 can condensed cream of celery soup
1/2 cup shredded Cheddar (or up to 1 cup, to taste)
1 teaspoon Dijon-style mustard (I use whole-grain, do NOT use regular yellow mustard)
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 cups cooked broccoli
4 hot baked potatoes, split