PDA

View Full Version : My daughter said she hates me :(

realfoodmom
07-01-2010, 01:15 PM
I know she doesn't really. She's five, though, and generally very sweet natured and sensitive. She told me last week she hated me when I wouldn't let her ride in the back of the grocery cart. I went home and made her memorize Proverbs 12:18....in hind site it probably wasn't the best response.
Today she said it to me at the park when I told her we didn't have time to play on the playground because Daddy had to go back to work.
My husband was beside himself. He couldn't believe she would say that to me. She stomped up the path and told me I was such a MEAN mommy. I was TERRIBLE and HORRIBLE and NOT nice!
I told her hate is a very unkind word and it is not acceptable to insult people when you're angry. We practiced in the car acceptable ways to express anger that would keep everyones heart safe...but, I still feel like she needs to be disciplined! I wouldn't say I'm new to grace based parenting...we don't spank, we don't punish in the traditional sense, we're really big into natural consequences, but I feel really strongly that she shouldn't speak to me that way. It seems so cruel and disrespectful and unChristlike. Anyway, any better ideas on how to handle this?

klpmommy
07-01-2010, 01:25 PM
She's angry and using her words. It isn't a bad thing. :hug

I playful parent it. It takes all the power from her words. I sing "mean mommy" (if you're familiar with Land Before Time it is the Big, Big Water song-- Mean, mean mean mean mommy."). I tell my kids "Yup, meanest mommy you'll ever have!" in a cheerful voice. I agree with them "I am the meanest mom! I never let you play or do anything fun. You have to sit still in a hard chair all day and eat nothing buy broccoli & spinach! You don't have any toys or fun things to do except stare at boring walls. I am soooooooo mean!"