PDA

View Full Version : I Don't Know What To Put Here

susannah
06-30-2010, 12:50 PM
I'm fairly new to GBD. I've been flirting with the idea for about a year or so, but have only in the last month or so been putting in into practice. I have a 5 yo DS and a 1 yo DD, and feel like I'm at the end of my rope with DS. It seems like the only way to get him to even notice that I'm speaking to him is to yell. I'm aware that part of this is because his whole life he has basically been trained to think "Mommy isn't serious until she's yelling so I can ignore her until then" and partly because he's 5. But I'm clueless on how to really enforce rules now without spanking/timeouts. I tell him I'll take toys away and that is somewhat effective, but not terribly. DH is mostly onboard, but he will still spank if it gets to be a real battle (i.e. last night DS got out of his bed no less than 10 times after bed time, which is fairly unusual. So, DH spanked him.) I've got 3 books lined up on Amazon to buy in a couple of days. Grace Based Parenting, Easy to Love, Difficult to Discipline, and Families Where Grace is in Place. Are there any others you would reccomend? Are there any you would switch out? Is there any advice you can give me now? I really need something like "When this happens, you do this." He flat out refuses to obey sometimes. We're taking other steps already, like altering his diet and cutting back on screen time (which in the past has been nonexistant but has crept back in) We're also seriously cutting back on Grandma time b/c that is where he gets the most TV and sweets. It's hard, though b/c we live about 100 ft from her. We also live in a very pro-spanking environment (we live on family land with my mom, grandparents and two aunts/uncles. There is only one other family here with kids and they are devout Pearlites... I confess I am only recently leaving the Pearls behind myself. Oh, and we all go to church together where where my Uncle... the other one with children