PDA

View Full Version : help, 3 year old, NEW to not spanking and don't know what to do.

Prism
05-25-2010, 10:14 AM
I'm new to not spanking, How do you correct an attitude with out spanking? For example, foldng arms and putting head in the air while narrowing eyes and puching out lips. Or talking back, for example, "don't touch." "No, you don't touch." Or saying, "Don't do such and such", and they do it quickly to try to do it before you can stop them. Like stealing a marshmellow, or coloring the chair.

tigerlily
05-25-2010, 10:30 AM
3 is one of the ages that I really struggle with not being punitive.:yes

But, there is a lot you can do.:tu

Firstly, you can't change your child's attitude, but you can give them the opportunity. I usually script them in what I would rather hear. Try something like this -- "You don't like that mommy said no. You crossed your arms and made a face like this (show the face). When you don't like my decision you can say "I don't like that mommy.-- you say it." (demonstrate correct tone). Would you also like to do any angry dance or draw a picture to show me your frustration? (or another activity to release big feelings).

Give them the correct words to say and tell them to try again. It's okay for them not to like it, show them how to express what they are feeling in an appropriate way. They may not get it at 3, but it's building a good foundation.

I would suggest you turn your negative "don't do X," to "You may do this." If they answer back with "no, you don't touch" script some more -- "Mommy, I want something to touch' (help them find something okay to touch.) or -- "You wanted to touch this, this is not a toy, let's find your toy to touch." Put the item away or help them go somewhere else.