PDA

View Full Version : Gentle isn't feeling very different from permissive...

NewLeaf
04-30-2009, 09:54 AM
I'm new to GBD and know that controlling my kids and forcing them to obey isn't the way to go. But I feel like my 3 year old walks all over me and I don't see what I'm doing right and what I'm doing wrong.

She's very smart and very verbal and VERY emotional. I know that being smart does not mean that she is as emotionally mature though.

In any case, whenever something doesn't go her way (I ask her to follow a rule and she doesn't feel like it, she doesn't like what we have to eat, which happens ALL THE TIME, or I ask her to wait when she wants something immediately) she won't listen to me or negotiate in any way. If I try to say anything at all she talks over me. If I open my mouth she start yelling so that she can't hear my words. If I try to walk away she follows me, continuing to yell at me and if I don't respond she eventually will start hitting/kicking etc.

She won't let me talk to her but she won't let me walk away either. When she gets really worked up I ask her if she needs help calming down which usually starts a tantrum. After she has a full blown, ear splitting tantrum she will start to cry and tell me that I hurt her feelings and that I'm not being nice. :doh I don't know how to help her understand that discipline doesn't mean I'm being mean.

This happens so many times a day I don't know what to do. It FEELS like she is walking all over me and has no idea that there are any boundaries.

I don't know what to do. I am with my kids 24/7 without help during the week and we are homebound without a car so this only adds to my frustration.
:(

malakoa
04-30-2009, 09:59 AM
Yeah.
Three is super hard and there are stickies about it. My four year old has started wanting to negotiate everything and I'm trying not to let her.