PDA

View Full Version : Knit/crochet in a car?

TrinMama
04-04-2009, 08:49 AM
So, we're heading on a two-day car trip (ie, 9-10 hrs a day) this week...can I knit or crochet while dh drives? I'm just learning now...so call me clueless. :O

Punkie
04-04-2009, 08:50 AM
I do :grin

TrinMama
04-04-2009, 08:54 AM
awesome. so what's a good starting out project?

TestifyToLove
04-04-2009, 09:00 AM
Oh car rides are my BEST time to crochet. Kids are contained. I can chat with DH, don't have to worry about the baby needing held, don't have to take kiddos potty or do anything else. I can just let my hands be free to move as they want to move.

I just have to stop occasionally and watch out the windsheild to stave off my tendency to get carsick.

Blue-EyedLady
04-04-2009, 09:09 AM
Oh car rides are my BEST time to crochet. Kids are contained. I can chat with DH, don't have to worry about the baby needing held, don't have to take kiddos potty or do anything else. I can just let my hands be free to move as they want to move.

I just have to stop occasionally and watch out the windsheild to stave off my tendency to get carsick.

I get carsick easily. I can't read in the car - no way! But I can crochet, as long as I mostly look up and not at my hands. So if I'm working on a project where I have the pattern memorized (or am making up my own! :smile) I can do it. Also, I can only crochet on the highway, not in city traffic.

For a beginner, I would choose a pattern that's very simple and repetitive. What do you want to make?

TrinMama
04-04-2009, 09:11 AM
I don't know! Something fun and useful...eventually I want to make hats.

BeckaBlue
04-04-2009, 09:18 AM
I like doing it in the car, i pretty well never get the option though :giggle
my xh though gets all freaked out by me knitting in the car :rolleyes4

Blue-EyedLady
04-04-2009, 09:21 AM
I don't know! Something fun and useful...eventually I want to make hats.