PDA

View Full Version : Surrounded by people who don't get GD

CapeTownMommy
09-26-2007, 11:00 PM
I'm pretty new to GD. Started out Ezzo'ing and all that - back when I was really stupid. Anyway, I'm totally convinced that GD is the way to go, even while I know that it's going to be hard for me coming from a punitive mindset. But to make things worse, I find myself surrounded by totally punitive people. My best friend is pregnant, and she made a casual reference to another friend of hers who is sleep training her baby and finding it hard because the baby gets carried around too much at daycare. :hunh I'm doing my best to combine alternative solutions and beandip, but I get so frustrated that all these babies get put through that.

I did talk to my friend about CIO last night, told her that I believe babies have a right to want their mothers, even when there's nothing wrong and it's inconvenient for mom to respond, and that letting baby cry is cruel. She was nodding appreciatively so I think she gets it. But I'm just so discouraged that it's such a constant battle. I seem to forget most times that punitive parenting IS mainstream parenting and that most parents dont realise how cruel it is to their babies.

My sister, for example, spanks and does time-outs and all that. Their dd (3 and a half) is a very sweet child but quite spirited, and looking at their parenting style it seems very adversarial most of the time. As if they believe (Dobson-like) that the children's wills need to be bent. They also have a 1yo son who is also quite a handful. I may have posted about this before, but it seems they just assume we'll spank too. Her husband made a very upsetting comment to me about how handy it is that wooden spoons (I was cooking when he said this) are always available when the child acts out. I said "not in my house" and left it at that.