PDA

View Full Version : Help. dh and I argued about punishment today. :(

kiloyd
09-20-2007, 10:46 AM
DH argued with me today about not punishing ds. I'm not good with words and how to explain to him.

Here's what happened. DS (6) said he was done with his full bowl of cereal b/c it was too soggy. I've been through this before with him. Today I told him that if he was going to waste all that cereal then I wan't going to buy Crispix for awhile.

Then he wanted scrambled eggs. And he wanted to crack them. I told him to do 3 and out of the kitchen for something. When I came back he had done 4 and I said " I told you to do 3" and ds said "oh". We cooked them together and then he only ate a little. I said i was going to save them and warm them up for him at supper.

Dh then says "did you punish him?". I said no and told him what I had told ds. DH then says 'that's the problem you don't punish him and then he's still not listening'. So dh is mad and on top of this I know he is under stress trying to find a job, he' s been out of work for 2 months now.

Can you give me some links on punishment?

have to go, fighting children

marathonmom
09-20-2007, 10:55 AM
I have so BTDT :hug
especially with the soggy cereal.

We didn't buy cereal for awhile bec. of that.

Now we really supervise our youngest, and probably will until she is 8 or so. Just give her a small amount in
the bowl. I hate soggy cereal!!

Could your ds help you come up with a posted schedule for meals, so he would know what there is each morning?

Just some thoughts....

KitKat
09-20-2007, 11:05 AM
OK, alot is in the wording for men. For my husband if he asked me that, I would not have argued, but told him....

"well, he has to eat eggs again for supper. We don't waste food so I told him he needed to eat the rest later".