PDA

View Full Version : Support and encouragement please!

Dandelion
09-14-2007, 06:22 PM
I am really new to this idea of grace-based discipline, however I have otherwise parented my children by very AP methods (gentle birth, extended exclusive breastfeeding, on and off cloth diapering, babywearing, co-sleeping, homeschooling, absolutely no CIO - you name it I did AP parenting!). Somehow, though, my christian mindedness never met my AP mindedness on discipline. I always thought that all Christians believe in spanking and since I have become stronger in my faith only since having my first child I did not have much time to think through discipline and how to go about it. Everyone I know spanks and gives time-outs and many are just plain inconsistent in their methods and scream at their kids half the time istead f doing anything. Some of my friends and aquaintances are huge believers in SACH and because of this I was convinced to buy this book and until recently I felt awful that I had not read the whole thing and fully implemented the techniques in my home. My husband is a spanker and is basically just clueless about discipline and has no true desire (that I know of) to change his cluelessness...I have not even told him of my decision a few weeks ago to give up spanking and punitive discipline because I think that he will be very confused and confrontational when he sees the kids misbehaving and me not being successful to control them. So I guess what I am saying is I am very confused and headed for serious discouragement and I feel that no one in my "real" life is capable of supporting me. My parents (who were not Bible believing Christians) did spank us, but they were much more gracious than I am. I am just really unsure of myself and my role as a gentle authoritarian. I feel like an enemy of my children - especially my oldest - whenever I have to correct behavior. I am dying for some advice!

~yogamom~
09-14-2007, 08:29 PM