PDA

View Full Version : Marinara/ Spaghetti sauce question

Danette
08-13-2007, 08:09 AM
I'm planning on canning some marinara sauce and was looking up a recipe. The recipe says to saute onions and garlic in olive oil ... but someone in a reply to the recipe said that you can't can it if you use olive oil but you could freeze it.... :shrug Anyone know? Or does anyone have a tried and true recipe? I really want to can it... I don't have a big freezer.

BTW... I'm just learning how to can... I made peach butter and burnt it (total bummer) and I canned it anyway this morning to practice my skills... all five jars sealed!! Anyone want some burnt peach butter??... my son says it's not that bad... it just tastes like it's already on toast. :haha

Danette
08-13-2007, 08:12 AM
Kelly... I just saw your recipe in the other thread... and you use olive oil... so that lady doesn't know what she is talking about. :P~

I'm going to go print it now. :yes

kklibrarian
08-13-2007, 09:28 AM
I was just fixing to post that mine has done fine all these years with me using olive oil and canning the marinara. :yes Your son is funny....mine like to make clever critiques of my preserving attempts as well. My favorite so far has been my daughter who informed me that she was glad I liked watermelon rind preserves. That way I could eat all of those jars of them I put up. :P~

Blessings,
Kelly

Wonder Woman
08-13-2007, 09:33 AM
stealing your thread to say "I want to learn how to can and no one will teach me. *pout*"

kklibrarian
08-13-2007, 10:18 AM
Reb,

Canning is the simplest thing in the world. If you can get a hold of a Ball Blue Book of Canning, it gives you step by step instructions for almost everything you'd ever want to put up along with the recipes. If you still want lessons, I'd be happy to teach you, but you'd have to come back down to Louisiana! ;)

Love,
Kelly

Danette
08-13-2007, 10:37 AM