PDA

View Full Version : Tea for a toddler?

JJsMom
05-13-2007, 06:02 PM
I want to start having "tea time" at our house around 10 am. We usually get up between 7 and 8 and have a little cereal, so by 10, we are usually really hungry and I can usually bake something with ds after my dd's first nap. Anyway, I was thinking about using special tea cups and actually giving him tea but I'm not sure what kind is safe for a toddler, if any at all. I gave him chamomille before but I remember thinking at the time that he seemed to get really spazzy after. :shrug
BTW, he doesn't really need tea and I've just been giving him rice milk and we pretend it's tea but I thought it would be fun to have the real thing. :)

kcasmama
05-13-2007, 06:06 PM
Toddlers all over Africa, Asia and Europe are given tea. I wouldn't think many real teas are dangerous, but I'm no expert...

allisonintx
05-13-2007, 06:09 PM
Mint tea is lovely.
Lemon Balm
Ginger
Dandilion
Raspberry leaf
Raspberry Zinger (any of the Zinger teas)

Punkie
05-13-2007, 06:19 PM
My dd started drinking chamomile around 1 1/2. She loves it. Her pediatrician even recommended it when she would get a cold :)

Mommyo6
05-13-2007, 06:39 PM
Well I 'm British and my mom said I went from a bottle to my English black tea with milk and suger. Still have to have it every morning! Of course bear in mind that I am 4'11" tall so it may have stunted my growth!! :) All my kids drank cambric tea by age 2 or 3 (very milky English tea).

BY the way my grandmothers were tiny too so I really don't think the tea did it!

cobluegirl
05-13-2007, 06:46 PM
Tea is better than juice..because it doesn't have sugar. I tend to stear clear of the caffenated kind for my kids but the girls love chamomile...

mama2three
05-13-2007, 07:51 PM