PDA

View Full Version : Mayonnaise trouble

Mert
05-08-2007, 06:57 PM
Dh and I are trying to find a mayo with no soy or canola oil in it. If you have one that you like, please let me know what it is. Soooo, I've been looking at recipes to make my own, but I realized that they all use raw eggs. Does all mayo have raw egg in it? I don't remember anyone saying don't eat it when I was pregnant. Does anyone make their own without the raw egg? I'd love to have your recipe. :heart I would like to get a copy of Nourishing Traditions. I understand it includes a mayo recipe. Anyone have it or use it? Do you like it? I'd love to have that as well if someone feels comfortable sharing (copyright laws and all). Thanks mommas!!

Herbwifemama
05-08-2007, 07:50 PM
I have it and use it- and I also use another one I got from Full Moon Feast. I will share both, but currently, I'm NAKing. I've been eating it for several months now, and no issues. I keep it in the fridge, and anything I make with it stays in the fridge. I get my eggs from a local farmer whose methods I trust. And then I don't worry anymore.

Mert
05-08-2007, 08:40 PM
Thanks, MessianicMama! I'd love to give it a try whenever you get a chance to post it. No hurry! :ty

Herbwifemama
05-10-2007, 11:12 AM
I can post the NT version, but FMF is in the bedroom with the napping baby.

I think I like the NT version better TBH.

1egg, room temp
1 egg yolk
1t dijon mustard
1.5 T lemon juice
1T whey (just drain some off some yogurt) - optional, but I use it, and I"ll explain why
3/4- 1 C olive oil (I use Mary's Oil Blend, which is equal parts coconut, sesame, and olive oil)
generous pinch sea salt

Mix all the ingredients in a blender except the oil. When blended, drizzle in the oil SLOWLY while running the blender, to emulsify the mayo. Taste it to check the seasoning- add more lemon juice or salt as desired. (without taste adjusting, it makes a very mild mayo- I like mine a bit tangier).