PDA

View Full Version : How do you organize your kid's stuff?

gracieannsmom
04-28-2007, 08:18 PM
My MIL buys dd1 SO many things I don't know what to do with them. I thought I had it all under control but I'm starting to think I was wrong. I'm having trouble with the hair ties, barretts, headbands and jewelry. She has some regular hair ties but then there's some that have big ribbons sticking off of them and other "bling bling" that makes them big and bulky. She has so many random hair things I don't know how to organize them so we can find what we want and so they won't all get tangled up. Then, she has hair things for her Barbies and Little Ponies and other dolls and UGH!!! There's hair stuff everywhere and I need to get it under control before the baby gets mobile and starts putting them all in her mouth! Help!!

MotherSong
04-28-2007, 08:43 PM
I am not good at keeping our stuff orgranized at all. But my mom did a pretty good job when we were kids.

Barrettes can be clipped to a wide ribbon so you can see them all at once and keep them from getting tangled.

Necklaces are easy to access when they're hanging up. Some tall jewelry boxes have hangers. Or, for cheap, you can use tiny metal pegs on a strip of wood (or even a key-hanging thing).

Rubber bands fit around a tube. Sometimes I just put them in baggies.

The best advice of all, from the FlyLady I think, is to get rid of what you're not using. Sort and pitch--or, if it's too sentimental, then put into storage somewhere for now. I think it's easier to get rid of things if you can give them to someone who appreciates them--so maybe take some extra ribbons and hair "bling" to church or give to a friend.

Anyway...take my advice with a grain of salt because ... if you were to see how disorganized our house is, you'd laugh!!

Love,
MotherSong

gracieannsmom
04-29-2007, 05:56 PM